History, culture and more

ccvp logo full

Ceiriog Memorial Institute




Opened May 25th 1911 by Lord Davies of Llandinam (then David Davies MP), the Institute was erected by public subscriptions and founded by Sir Alfred T Davies. It was erected as a lasting memorial to the Welsh poet ‘Ceiriog’ and other notable Welshmen connected with the district.
There is also a plaque paying tribute to Sir Thomas Jefferson presented in 1933 by the Consul General of the United States of America.

The Institute is open every Saturday afternoon in August and September, between 1pm and 4pm, or by prior arrangement for group visits.

Phone: 01691 718768, 01691 718383, 01691 718376 or 01978 869525 to arrange a viewing.

David Lloyd George

The hall forms the heart of the community, holding meetings, concerts, debates and social functions. Now the Ceiriog Memorial Institute museum has been refurbished and consists of a display area for the many unique exhibits which have been donated to the museum since 1911.